Our Windows Have Meaning

Our windows were created specifically for our church building with special meanings for each window.

 The Good Shepherd

window 1

 Jesus is the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world and also watches over His flock.  He left the 99 in pursuit of the one which was lost and wandering.  If you are that one, Jesus loves you and desires to find you.


   The Three Crosses

window 4

 The three crosses represent the atoning work of Christ.  Christ died between two thieves on an old rugged cross to pay the penalty that was demanded by God the Father for the sins of the world.  He paid the debt that we owed and could not pay for the remission of sin.  There are 60 some crosses in our sanctuary symbolically representing all that God has done for us.  There is also a flaw in the window representing the emptiness we experience when we are outside the Grace of God.  It reminds us of our need for salvation.


The Bible Compass

window 5

The third window represents the importance of the Word of God as our compass for life.  The Bible is surrounded by a mirror that reflects each persons reflection as they gaze on this window.  As it reflects our image, we are reminded how important the Word of God is to us.  It is where we find the truth of God’s redeeming work.  From the fall, through the cross, and the establishment of the church, God’s Word is essential to all who seek to know God and His Son, Jesus


  The Incarnation

window 2

The fourth window represents the incarnation.  It represents the birth of Christ (Emanuel, God with us) and the beginning of God’s saving work on earth.  It represents the manger scene and all of humanity who seek a savior.  The central focus of this window is the baby Jesus in the manger, but it is always in the shadow of the Cross


The Cross and the Flame

window 3

This is one of the most important windows we display.  It displays the emblem of The United Methodist Church.  The cross and the intertwining flame can be seen in front of most United Methodist churches. It has great significance to our understanding of grace.  The cross represents one work of grace and the flame represents the second subsequent work of grace.  John Wesley (Our Founder) taught of a four fold grace:  prevenient grace, justifying grace, sanctifying grace, and glorifying grace.  The cross and flame represent two aspects of grace.  The cross and Christ’s finished work of the cross represents justifying grace.  This is saving grace.  This is the grace that pardons us from our sins and redeems us as lost sinners.  The flame represents a deeper work of grace.  It represents the purging power of the Holy Spirit in the life of a Christian.  This comes through complete surrender – when as Paul says, “we are crucified with Christ and I no longer live but Christ lives in me and the life I live, I live by faith in the one who gave himself for me.”  When we surrender our lives fully to Christ and die to self and to sin, God’s grace purges us and sanctifies us.  The Bible says,  “This is God’s will for us, your sanctification.”